Wellness Wednesday: Don’t set yourself up for failure

It’s the second month of the year! Personally, I feel like January past very slow and I was getting excited for February to get here. No wonder as December is such an eventful month with lots of celebrations, food, gifts and excitement and then comes January and you’re supposed to be a health kick, try new exercise methods and there’s a lack of money due to all the expenses in December. That’s a lot to handle and a lot of changes in a relatively short period of time.

 

set-a-goal

 

That’s why I wanted to focus on wellbeing specifically for this time of the year. If you live somewhere where it’s cold at this time of the year it can be difficult to be motivated about healthy eating and exercise when you just want to be inside where it’s warm. There’s rarely any sun and, at least here in London, it’s a permanent grey weather that really dampens my mood. For me I don’t like to push myself to do to much, if I try and tackle every single area of my life that needs some attention I’m setting myself up for failure and I’ll feel 100% worse when I’m not performing to my (honestly too high) standard. So this is what I’m trying to do..

 

strive

 

Focus on one thing in your life that you want to improve and let the others be. Do you want to exercise more? Learn new recipes? Read more books? Spend more time with your friends? Don’t try and do everything at once! Eventually there will be one thing that you wont have time for and you’ll end up feeling like you have failed when there’s simply not been enough time and life get’s in the way. Try to just focus on one thing. For February, try to focus on one thing that you’ve wanted to try or improve on and let the others go. Eventually you’ll get in to a routine where that one thing you want to improve on gets easier and then you can add something else. For me it’s exercise. I really like to exercise but through various excuses I haven’t done any exercise for the longest time, so I’ve now signed myself up for a gym! I’ve booked a class for Friday and I’m going to aim to go a couple times a week. I’m going to try and focus on just that and not try and be 100% perfect on everything going on in my life, and hopefully when I’ve gotten into a routine with exercise and can add something else in.

Let me know how it goes!

 

 

Xx Rapunzel

Leave a Reply

